AN Elizabethan structure, for centuries considered an architectural gem, had been restored and reopened.

Work had been carried out by the Redditch Building Society on the black and white building on the corner of High Street and St John Street.

The £10,000 restoration project had been completed so the society could open the building as a branch office.

à A SCHEME proposed by Dodderhill Parish Council for the construction of a car park on part of the recreation ground on the DeWycheEstate, in Wychbold, had been considered by Droitwich Rural District Council's housing committee.

It reported back to the council that the cost would be prohibitive, but there was no objection to such a change of use for the ground.

At the last meeting of the parish council, some members had suggested the scheme be dropped.

à THE George Inn, which had stood behind Bromsgrove's old Town Hall until the hall's demolition in 1928, was now set to be pulled down itself.

The property had been purchased by the Pearl Assurance Company, with the site set to become shops and offices, including one for Pearl.