About Cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies.

Alan Wallcroft

Alan Wallcroft LATEST

A 'Shaw-fire' winner

6:29pm Friday 31st July 2015

REVIEW: Mrs Warren’s Profession – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, July 28 until Saturday, August 1, 2015.

Provocative period drama

Droitwich Advertiser:

10:13pm Monday 27th July 2015

THE audience at Malvern’s Festival Theatre might well be forgiven for looking over their shoulders when the theatre stages Mrs Warren’s Profession throughout this week.

It's a good time with Goodman

Droitwich Advertiser:

1:08pm Sunday 26th July 2015

REVIEW: Volpone - at the Swan Theatre. Stratford-upon-Avon, various dates until Saturday, September 12, 2015.

Worrying times in Whitechapel

Droitwich Advertiser:

10:27pm Thursday 16th July 2015

DARK deeds are afoot in Victorian Whitechapel in a mystery thriller heading for Malvern’s Festival Theatre next week.

Shakespeare on speed

Droitwich Advertiser: Complete Works of Shakespeare crammed into fun-packed 90 minute show in Dartford

10:47pm Monday 6th July 2015

LOVERS of Shakespeare will get the chance this week to see all of the Bard’s 37 plays in just 97 minutes.

They're top of the class

7:04pm Wednesday 1st July 2015

REVIEW: The History Boys – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, June 29 until Saturday, July 4, 2015.

Boldness offers ample reward

Droitwich Advertiser:

11:58pm Tuesday 30th June 2015

REVIEW: Othello - at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Stratford-upon-Avon, various dates until Friday, August 28, 2015.

Super suspense

11:58pm Thursday 25th June 2015

REVIEW: The Business of Murder – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, June 23 until Saturday, June 27, 2015.

Show to shout about

Droitwich Advertiser:

9:41pm Monday 22nd June 2015

SAY it softly, better still, say it quickly… but it has been 50 years since one of the most successful Folk/Rock duos of all time recorded their first number one hit single - The Sound of Silence.

Twists and turns

9:36pm Monday 22nd June 2015

THEATREGOERS who love a good murder thriller will be in their element if they pop along to Malvern’s Festival Theatre this week.

Twists and turns

1:04pm Saturday 20th June 2015

THEATREGOERS who love a good murder thriller will be in their element if they pop along to Malvern’s Festival Theatre this week.

Shredding of emotions

3:49pm Thursday 18th June 2015

REVIEW: The Father – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, June 16 until Saturday, June 20, 2015.

Weather fails to dampen show's spirits

Droitwich Advertiser:

7:17pm Monday 15th June 2015

THIS year’s Royal Three Counties Show may have suffered a mixed bag of weather during its three day extravaganza at its Malvern showground over the weekend but can still be considered to be another success.

Spectacular show for all the family

Droitwich Advertiser:

10:51am Sunday 7th June 2015

 

Setting foot into French history

Droitwich Advertiser:

3:21pm Saturday 6th June 2015

HISTORY under your feet will definitely be on offer for any keen walkers wanting to take up the opportunity to visit the Cathar castles of the French Pyrenees, but be warned - it will definitely test your fitness.

Welcome returns

Droitwich Advertiser:

3:10pm Saturday 6th June 2015

RETURNING to the Royal Shakespeare Company next month for the first time in 12 years is the versatile Henry Goodman.

Spirited offering

12:19pm Tuesday 2nd June 2015

REVIEW: The Woman in Black – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, June 1 until Saturday, June 6, 2015.

Earnest earns all the accolades

Droitwich Advertiser:

7:45pm Tuesday 26th May 2015

REVIEW: The Importance Of Being Earnest – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, May 25 until Saturday, May 30, 2015.

Not quite the full pound...

Droitwich Advertiser:

2:33pm Sunday 24th May 2015

REVIEW: The Merchant of Venice - at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon, various dates until Wednesday, September 2, 2015.

Celebrating Elgar

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:03pm Monday 18th May 2015

THE last major work to be composed by Sir Edward Elgar will form the centrepiece of this year’s birthday celebration concert for the world famous Worcestershire composer.

Another Kate due for Stratford stage

11:48am Monday 18th May 2015

SOME of the leading exponents of British folk music will be lining up together later this month to appear on stage at Stratford-upon-Avon’s Royal Shakespeare Theatre.

Entranced by the voice

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:48pm Sunday 17th May 2015

REVIEW: We’ve Only Just Begun (A Celebration of Karen Carpenter) - at the Forum Theatre, Malvern, on Friday, May 15, 2015.

Fox factor finds favour

1:35pm Tuesday 12th May 2015

REVIEW: Dear Lupin – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, May 11 until Saturday, May16, 2015.

Unique offering of a dark tale

Droitwich Advertiser:

11:42pm Tuesday 5th May 2015

REVIEW: Rebecca – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, May 4 until Saturday, May 9, 2015.

Dorset town is in great demand

Droitwich Advertiser:

7:13pm Friday 1st May 2015

THE beginning of May has seen the much anticipated Thomas Vinterberg adaptation of Thomas Hardy's fourth novel and first major literary success Far From the Madding Crowd opening in cinemas around the country and has the Dorset town of Sherborne eagerly awaiting the arrival of visitors keen to visit some of the film’s locations.

Fox factor is a great coup

Droitwich Advertiser:

6:49pm Friday 1st May 2015

FATHER and son - actors James and Jack Fox - will be starring together on a Worcestershire stage later this month.

Speech delivers compelling tale

8:47pm Thursday 30th April 2015

REVIEW: The King’s Speech – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, April 27 until Saturday, May 2, 2015.

It's sure to be an acquired taste

Droitwich Advertiser:

2:57pm Thursday 23rd April 2015

REVIEW: Love’s Sacrifice – at the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon, from Saturday, April 11 until Wednesday, June 24, 2015.

Powerful tale of the past catching up

2:36pm Thursday 23rd April 2015

REVIEW: All My Sons – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, April 21 until Saturday, April 25, 2015.

It's a Miller masterpiece

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:52pm Sunday 19th April 2015

ONE of the outstanding theatrical works of the 20th century arrives in Worcestershire this coming week.

Salesman sells itself

12:49pm Sunday 19th April 2015

THE Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) has just announced that Gregory Doran’s production of Arthur Miller’s 1949 Pulitzer Prize-winning play, Death of a Salesman, will transfer to the Noël Coward Theatre in London’s West End, following its run in the Royal Shakespeare Theatre in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Sweet sounds of The Searchers

12:35pm Sunday 19th April 2015

IT’S hard to believe but The Searchers, one of the most successful groups in the Swinging Sixties, are still swinging and singing and local fans will be able to get a glimpse shortly of the band which belted out such hits as Needles and Pins and Sweets For My Sweet.

Pun-ishing schedule for Francis

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:28pm Sunday 19th April 2015

GET ready to be pun-ished for Stewart Francis, one of the stars of Mock The Week, Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow and Live At The Apollo is now on a brand new stand-up tour and his fantastic, hilarious new show - Pun Gent! – hits Malvern next weekend.

Let's hit the road...

Droitwich Advertiser:

11:06am Friday 3rd April 2015

GET set to walk 500 miles... the Proclaimers are on their way!

Time-travelling comedy masterpiece

Droitwich Advertiser:

11:02am Friday 3rd April 2015

LOCAL theatregoers will shortly get their opportunity to form their own opinions on what is widely regarded as one of the greatest plays of the last century.

Water-way to celebrate Bard's birthday

Droitwich Advertiser:

10:56am Friday 3rd April 2015

A BROMSGROVE-based canal boat company is offering the opportunity to celebrate the birthday of Britain's greatest playwright with a canal cruise to Shakespeare's birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Terrific trio deserve the cheers

5:16pm Tuesday 31st March 2015

REVIEW: Jeeves and Wooster in Perfect Nonsense – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, March 30 until Saturday, April 4, 2015.

It's going to be twice as (n)ice...

Droitwich Advertiser:

6:18pm Sunday 29th March 2015

WINTER returns shortly but don’t worry too much.

Bertie hits a spot of bother

Droitwich Advertiser:

6:15pm Sunday 29th March 2015

STAND by for nonsense, but it will be perfect.

Tale of revenge is so riveting

Droitwich Advertiser:

2:17pm Sunday 29th March 2015

REVIEW: The Jew of Malta – at the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon, on varying dates until Tuesday, September 8, 2015.

Almost 'lust' for words...

10:53am Saturday 28th March 2015

REVIEW: A Mad World My Masters – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, March 24 to Saturday, March 28, 2015.

Seedy times in Soho

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:46pm Thursday 19th March 2015

HAVING enjoyed a critically acclaimed run in Stratford a couple of years ago the Royal Shakespeare Company and English Touring Theatre’s production of A Mad World My Masters is now on tour.

Spoiled for choice of steam

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:41pm Thursday 19th March 2015

STEAM train buffs will find themselves in seventh heaven or better by making tracks to the north and mid-Wales area.

Saddle up for an Irish treat

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:26pm Thursday 19th March 2015

ANYONE who might have enjoyed the St Patrick’s Day celebrations which recently took place around the country might have been stirred enough to think about rediscovering some of the rugged beauty of the saint’s homeland, particularly the West of Ireland.

Arrival of new coastal 'village'

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:23pm Thursday 19th March 2015

ABOUT to be unveiled in the north-east of England is a new seaside ‘village’ designed to attract more tourists to this already attractive part of the country.

Incredible tale of courage

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:21pm Thursday 19th March 2015

THE fearless women who drove ambulances onto the battlefields in World War One are about to have their gripping tale transported to the stage.

Had you ever 'fort' of this?

Droitwich Advertiser:

12:12pm Thursday 19th March 2015

SITTING off the south coast of England, in the middle of the Solent, is a man-made island - No Man's Fort, which will open its doors to the public next week after undergoing an extensive renovation.

Queen of Crime still reigns supreme

12:20pm Tuesday 17th March 2015

REVIEW: And Then There Were None – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Monday, March 16 to Saturday, March 21, 2015.

Friendship with a fatal flaw

12:23am Friday 13th March 2015

REVIEW: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – at the Festival Theatre, Malvern, from Tuesday, March 10 to Saturday, March 14, 2015.

Double delight for youngsters

Droitwich Advertiser:

11:54am Sunday 8th March 2015

TWO special treats are in store for young children with visits to Worcestershire in the next few weeks of a mischievous cat and a group of characters who spend most of their time under the sea.

Keep in touch with local news

Sign up for email alerts

Most read stories

  • 1